Board Members

President – Norb Schmalfeld
President@wnyua.org
Norb was elected to the position of President of Western New York Umpire Association in 2020. He has been a working member of WNYUA for 34 years and having served on the Board of Directors since 2004. He is entering his 53rd year of baseball & softball umpiring overall. In addition, he also served as a Hockey Official for 44 years having retired from that sport in 2017. In addition to his role on the Board, he has been an instructor for the Association along with a mentor for newer umpires.
Vice President – Deborah Dourlain
VP@wnyua.org
Deb was newly elected to the position of Vice President of Western New York Umpire Association in 2020.
Treasurer – Jerry Clark
Treasurer@wnyua.org
Jerry was elected to the position of Treasurer of Western New York Umpire Association in 2020..
Recording Secretary – Russ Medina
Secretary@wnyua.org
Russ was elected to the position of Recording Secretary of Western New York Umpire Association in 2020.


Sergeant-At-Arms – Wally Bissett
Sergeant-at-Arms@wnyua.org
Wally was elected to the position of Sargent at Arms of Western New York Umpire Association in 2020. He has been a working member of WNYUA for 29 years. Wally is a graduate of the Wendlestedt Umpire School.  Wally umpires Varsity Baseball and all the area’s top baseball leagues including MUNY AAA, MUNY AA and AAABA.  Wally is an active College Baseball Umpire for the past 19 years working D1 and D3 games. Wally is on staff with the MAAC and America East D1 conferences and is a local fill in for Buffalo Bison games in the International League. Wally is also a member of the WNY Baseball of Fame, being inducted in 2019.

Justin Barleben
Director – Justin Barleben
Interpreter-baseball@wnyua.org
Justin has been umpiring baseball at the high school and recreational levels since 2013 and at the junior college, NCAA D-III, and summer collegiate levels since 2018. He moved up through the ranks quickly and at a young age thanks to the teaching and support provided by many of the members of WNYUA. Justin plans to use the skills he has learned as a high school teacher for Buffalo Public Schools and as an umpire to help both new candidates and veteran members of our organization become better, more knowledgable, and more consistent officials.
Director – Russ Medina
Interpreter-Softball@wnyua.org
Russ will be the Softball rules interpreter for Western New York Umpire Association for 2020


Director – Tom Naeger
Tom_Naeger@wnyua.org
Tom started umpiring in 1995 at Lou Gehrig.  In 2000 he joined WNYUA working in High School and all of our great leagues.  He also works Summer Collegiate Baseball as a regular member of the PGCBL and was invited to spend a week in the FCBL in 2020.  He has also been invited to work at many Firecracker Prospect Tournaments in Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania.  In 2021, Tom work non-conference D-I games in the A10, and conference games in D-II for the North East 10 & East Coast Conference.  Tom heads the Organizations Technology Committee.

Mike Wozniak
Director – Mike Wozniak
MWozniak@wnyua.org


 
Director – Ed Michalek
EMichalek@wnyua.org


 
Director – Patty Seres
PSeres@wnyua.org

Director – Dave Garbacz
Director – Jeff Grabowski