
NYSSO RULES INTERPRETATIONS – 04/09/2023 
 
• The bat below bears the USA Softball Certification Mark.  However, this bat is not yet certified.  

The manufacturer jumped the gun.  THIS BAT IS NOT APPROVED and may not be used.  Please 
be diligent during your bat check to ensure removal of these bats if they are present.  We cannot 
blame the teams, players, parents, etc., but we must enforce the rules and must strive, 
especially in this case, to avoid necessitating imposing a penalty for its use by removing it at 
once.  Should the bat ultimately receive certification, we will notify you.  

 

DDA Bat                       DDA Bat Stack 

 

• PASSING A RUNNER:  If a runner passes another runner, that trailing runner who did the 
passing is out automatically.  Do not wait to see how the play transpires to call her out.  For 
example, with R1 on 1st base, B2 hits a high fly ball to the outfield.  BR rounds 1st base and 
passes R1 who is waiting to tag up, just a step off the bag, etc.  The fact that the ball is ultimately 
caught is irrelevant to the passing.  Should the ball fall in, BR is still out.  Note:  a runner passing 
another runner does NOT remove the force play.  So, in the play above, if the outfielder dropped 
the ball, BR is out for passing R1 and R1 is still forced to 2nd base. 
 

• TIMING:  Develop proper timing in calling pitches behind the plate.  Umpires may not call 
pitches before the ball is in the catcher’s mitt.  Umpires must begin their call and signal before 
the catcher throws the ball back.   
 

• 1SF:  Use one-step fair (1SF) for routine plays at 1st base.  Do not position yourself such that 
you have to look through the first baseman to see the BR’s foot hit the base. 
 

• DOUBLE OCCUPANCY:  A non-forced runner is entitled to their base even if common sense and 
athleticism dictates they advance further.  A forced runner is entitled to the next base.  Any 
runner who advances to or passed the next base is entitled to that base until they advance to 
the subsequent base.  For example, with R1 on 1st base, B2 hits a gabber.  R1 advances to 2nd 
base, heads aggressively toward 3rd base and puts on the brakes.  B2, running aggressively, 
ran all the way to 2nd base.  R1 returns to 2nd base and now R1 and B2 occupy 2nd base.  The 
defense tags both runners.  B2 is out.  Notwithstanding the fact that R1’s unanticipated return 
to 2nd base “caused” the problem, she is still entitled to 2nd base. 
 

• DP ON DEFENSE:  Anytime the coach says “My DP is going in to [defensive position] you must 
inquire whether they are dropping the flex and playing 9 (leaving EP issues aside) or whether 
some other player is becoming the O/P (offensive player).  This is needed for proper line-up 
card management, particularly as it pertains to re-entry eligibility.   



 
• GORILLA GOLD:  This towel has been an approved drying agent going on two decades.  

However, the manufacturer has added additional products to its line.  The original (usually 
yellow) “all sport” towel is permitted.  The “enhanced” or “golf” one (usually white) is not 
permitted.  The reason one is permitted and one is not is the level of tackiness.  Simply put, one 
primarily stays on the hand without transfer while the other is so tacky that it actually 
transfers on to the ball.   Admittedly, this is not the easiest issue to regulate.  It’s similar to 
trying to regulate powder resin (legal) and rock resin (illegal). The easiest tell is whether the 
dirt/clay starts to adhere to the ball or discolor the ball.  If it does, it is highly likely that the 
drying agent is illegal.  This isn’t determinative, but it is a useful guide.  As an aside, remember 
that dirt is not a foreign substance regardless of the playing field surface.  There is no need to 
wipe it off, as opposed to the NCAA requirement.   

 

 

 

 


